Compact of Mayors Countdown to COP21

As COP21 approaches, the Compact of Mayors is gathering support from cities around the world. Over 325 cities have now joined the Compact, demonstrating their commitment to international cooperation for local action on climate change.

One-hundred-and-seventy-five (54%) of the committed cities are ICLEI members and report their climate commitments on the carbonn Climate Registry (cCR) – the world’s leading reporting platform to enhance transparency, accountability and credibility of climate action of local and subnational governments.

Forty-five of the cities are participating in the Transformative Actions Program (TAP), an inclusive and cooperative effort by networks of local and subnational governments to accelerate implementation of climate action of local and subnational governments. The most ambitious and innovative projects from the TAP will be presented at the Cities & Regions Pavilion – TAP2015 at COP21.

Thirty-one cities have reached full compliance with the Compact of Mayors. Full compliance is reached when cities their register their commitment to tackle climate change mitigation and adaptation, establish a greenhouse gas reduction target for the community, and present an action plan that addresses climate change.

On 25 November 2015, 20 new cities and towns were announced as reporting full compliance. Among them is Seoul, the city of ICLEI President Mayor Park Won-soon, who has been actively advocating for cities and towns around the globe to join the Compact of Mayors since taking up the presidency April 2015. Another highlight is New Taipei City as the first city in Asia to achieve full compliance.

The 20 cities and towns that are announced as fully Compact compliant, supported through ICLEI, are: 

  • Adelaide, Asutralia
  • Amurrio, Spain
  • Areatza, Spain 
  • Balmaseda, Spain 
  • Bilbao, Spain 
  • Belo Horizonte, Brazil
  • Donostia - San Sebastian, Spain 
  • Durango, Spain 
  • Durban, South Africa
  • Errentería, Spain 
  • Kaohsiung, Chinese Taipei
  • Legazpi, Spain 
  • New Taipei City, Chinese Taipei
  • Seoul, Republic of Korea
  • Tainan, Chinese Taipei
  • Taipei, Chinese Taipei
  • Taichung, Chinese Taipei
  • Tolosa, Spain 
  • Växjö, Sweden
  • Vitoria Gasteiz, Spain 

Regional Highlights


The US government announced that over 100 US cities have now committed to the Compact of Mayors, thereby surpassing the goal set by President Obama in August 2015. 


During the event ‘Urban Life Forum: Reflections on the Future of Cities', organized by the Municipality of Belo Horizonte and the National Front of Mayors (FNP) on 17 and 18 November in Belo Horizonte, Brazil, the host Mayor and President of FNP, Marcio Lacerda, announced that 29 new mayors have joined the Compact of Mayors. Thirty-six Brazilian Mayors are already committed to the global effort, demonstrating their leadership for more sustainable and climate resilient cities, and Belo Horizonte recently became the second Brazilian city to reach full compliance.


A group of city mayors in the Philippines announced their commitment to the Compact of Mayors at the National Launch of the Compact of Mayors in the Philippines on 12 November 2015. The event was hosted by ICLEI Southeast Asia Secretariat (ICLEI SEAS) in coordination with the League of Cities of the Philippines (LCP) and the Quezon City Government.

Fifteen new commitments were announced at the Launch, of which seven were from Mayors who personally attended to sign their Letters of Intent. These were Mayors Michael Rama (Cebu City), Nestor Alvarez (Science City of Muñoz), Maribel Eusebio (Pasig City), Gerardo Valmayor, Jr. (San Carlos City), Reynaldo San Pedro (San Jose del Monte City), Ferdinand Tubban (Tabuk City), and Eric Saratan (Talisay City, Negros Occidental). They were joined at the Launch by the four Mayors who have earlier committed to the Compact – Mayors Herbert Bautista (Quezon City), Arlene Arcillas (Santa Rosa), Stephany Uy-Tan (Catbalogan City), and Romulo Peña, Jr. (Makati City).

Eight other Mayors sent their signed Letters of Intent through representatives: Mayors Mauricio Domogan (Baguio City), Eduardo Dimacuha (Batangas City), Oscar Moreno (Cagayan de Oro City), Jaime Fresnedi (Muntinlupa City), John Bongat (Naga City), Edwin Olivarez (Parañaque City), Lucilo Bayron (Puerto Princesa City), and Jefferson Soriano (Tuguegarao City).

ICLEI SEAS Regional Director Victorino Aquitania conveyed appreciation for the Mayors’ commitment and urged other local governments in the Philippines and Southeast Asia to follow their lead.

“Cities and towns are climate leaders; they are in the best position to effect real change,” he said. “With our region as one of the most vulnerable in the world to climate change impacts, it is incumbent upon Mayors – who are directly responsible for the well-being of their constituents – to take action.”

About the Compact of Mayors

The Compact of Mayors was launched by UN Secretary-General Ban Ki-moon and his Special Envoy for Cities and Climate Change, Michael R. Bloomberg, under the leadership of the world’s global city networks – C40 Cities Climate Leadership Group (C40), ICLEI – Local Governments for Sustainability (ICLEI) and the United Cities and Local Governments (UCLG) – with support from UN-Habitat, the UN’s lead agency on urban issues. The Compact establishes a common platform to capture the impact of cities’ collective actions through standardized measurement of emissions and climate risk, and consistent, public reporting of their efforts.

More information

Compact of Mayors website

ENG | ES | FR | PT | KR | JP | CN